Dancing Into Etna

Day 60 and 61
7-7-17 and 7-8-17

Mile 1592 to 1597, 5 miles
Total PCT miles, 873
I was up pretty early this morning, and ready to race into town. It’s amazing being out in the wilderness for days at a time, but the comforts of town surely get you moving. I was climbing a particularly steep ridge when “Single Ladies” came on, so of course I had to dance to it. With the trekking poles I probably look like a muppet on crack, but I don’t care, I’m having fun.
As soon as I get to the top of the ridge there is snow…crap. I thought there wasn’t anymore until after Etna. Oh well. The first snowy section is directly above a shimmering blue lake. It almost looks like I could swan dive directly down hundreds of feet into its mirror surface. If I was afraid of heights I’d be petrified, but I’m not, so it’s amazing. For the next mile or so there is snow about every hundred feet. Some patches are easy to cross, some I climb above or below. It slows me down a bit, but I’m still super excited to get into town.
When I make it to the road, the first truck passing picks me up. I have waited less than 5 minutes! This is by far my fastest hitch. He had just been delivering hay to the mules and horses the firefighters are using in the area. He is nice enough to drop my off right in front of the Hiker Hut in town, thank you Benny!
The Hiker Hut is a small hostel on the same property as a very nice bed and breakfast. A former thru-hiker named Lionheart, who is helping out for the season, checks me in and shows me around. I like her instantly. There are only 4 bunks, and I’m the first one to arrive today. I choose the bottom bunk closest to the fan, and I’m happy. Next, I take a shower, and I’m even happier. My next stop is for lunch. The Hiker Hut offers hikers bikes (in various states of disrepair) to use to run errands around town. I take one with a comically saggy chain and pedal to Dottie’s, a local burger and ice cream stand. I put away an amazing pineapple burger, onion rings, iced tea, and a large chocolate and coconut milkshake. I am barely able to ride back to the Hiker Hut and collapse into a food coma. So good…

Back at the Hut, I chat with a German hiker named Maximus, who gives me a super light pair of shorts and t-shirt he was going to get rid of. I’ll try them out, and see if the shorts help with my chafe issue. Thanks Maximus! I mess around on my phone a bit and turn in.
I take a zero day on Saturday, and I’m incredibly lazy all day. One of the bed and breakfast guests doesn’t arrive, so I get a kick ass, posh breakfast for free! I joke around with Lionheart and Maximus a bit before heading back to stuff my face at Dottie’s again. While I’m having my lunch I sit with a cool hiker named Orange. I met Orange in Castella. He has orange pants and and orange shirt which makes him look a bit like a convict. I can’t imagine it helps with hitchhiking. After lunch I go shopping for my resupply, and head back to the Hut.
Everyone at the Hut is relaxing and trying to stay cool, it’s hot down here. I talk with a guy from Hawaii about my trail name, Runner 5. He asks about how I got it, so I explain about the “Zombies! Run” app. The next thing I know he’s downloading it. A bit later, 3 guys who thru-hiked last year, but missed a 30 mile section come in. They just got together to finish the section together and they start BBQing dinner. I join them for a bit. I find out they are from the East Bay, and we chat about SF a bit. They are total bros, but pretty funny. One of them had just gone to Pride a few weeks ago and was trying to explain it to his friends. Straight dudes describing gay pride floats may now be one of my favorite pastimes. I’m enjoying their company, but I can’t stay up too late because I’m heading back out to the trail early tomorrow. I pack all my stuff neatly so I can sneak out while it’s still dark without disturbing the other guests, and then drift off to sleep.
“We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars.” -Oscar Wilde

Leave a comment